First Time Watching: Sky Original Series Presents I Hate Suzie Series 1 (2020) Review by Ryan Balkwill

Genre: Drama

Created by Lucy Prebble, Billie Piper

Written by Lucy Prebble

Directed by Georgi Banks-Davies, Anthony Neilson

Starring: Billie PiperLeila FarzadDaniel IngsNathaniel Martello-White, Matthew Jordan-Caws. 

Composers: Johnny Lloyd, Nathan Coen

Executive Producers: Lucy Prebble, Billie Piper, Julie Gardner, Liz Lewin, Cameron Roach

Producer: Andrea Dewsbery

Production Companies:  Bad Wolf, Sky Studios

Distributor: NBCUniversal Television Distribution

Plot: Suzie Pickles has her life upended when she is hacked and pictures of her emerge online in an extremely compromising position. Aided by her best friend and manager, Naomi, Suzie tries to hold her life together.

I had this recorded for a long time before I finally sat down to watch this programme.  

Series 1 of I Hate Suzie was So Good and worth the wait.  

Pros: I did like the main character playing a true to life individual who was enthralling to see on screen. This show tackled so many issues, like struggling to be a mum, feminism, drug addition, keeping her career in intact & much more. Billie Piper was sensational in the show & I was very impressed by the cinematography for this show.     

Cons: I feel I may have to watch this series again as at times I got slightly lost and a bit confused with the story & this show might not be for everyone because of some of the content.

I recommend watching the first series of I Hate Suzie before preparing to watch the second series later this year.

Rating: 8.5 out of 10 Stars

Ryan Balkwill:

Resident TV reviewer,

Level Best Art Cafe.

Leave a comment